Owner file

More candidate files for the May primary | Local news

Several incumbents and some new candidates have applied for state-level re-election for the May 3 primary elections.

In the Wabash Valley, the seat of Indiana Senate District 38 is up for election, as are Indiana’s representative seats in Districts 42, 43, 44, 45, and 46.

In addition, the judges of Circuit Court (which also holds the title of Superior Court Division 3) and Superior Courts Division 1 and 4 are standing for election.

In state races:

• Democrat Kurtis J. Cummings has applied for the state representative seat for District 46. The district represents portions of Vigo, Clay, Owen and Monroe counties.

• Republican Robert A. Heaton has also nominated for the District 46 State Representative seat. Heaton is the incumbent.

• Republican Andrew McNeil has applied for the seat of state representative for District 43. This district represents a large part of Vigo County.

• Republican Beau Baird has requested the seat of state representative for District 44 which includes all of Putnam County and parts of Parke, Clay, Owen and Morgan counties. Baird is the incumbent.

• Republican Jon Ford has sought the seat of Indiana state senator in the district. 38. Ford is the licensee. The district covers Vigo County and northern Clay County.

In court races, Democrat Sarah K. Mullican has been appointed a judge of the Vigo County Circuit Court (43rd Judicial Circuit). Mullican is the incumbent.

In a Vigo County race, Republican Mark Clinkenbeard requested the District 1 seat for the Vigo County Commissioner.

This year there will also be an election for district seats at the Vigo County School Board, however, candidates do not run for those seats until July and are elected in the general election on November 8. This year there are seats for Districts 1, 2, 4 and 5 on the school board.

Filing for the May primary began on Wednesday, and applicants have until noon February 4 to apply for the primary. Candidates then have until February 11 at noon to withdraw from the primary election.

Voter registration in Indiana for the May election closes April 4.

Journalist Howard Greninger can be reached at 812-231-4204 or [email protected] Follow on Twitter @ TribStarHoward.